CABINET MEMBER FOR EDUCATION & WELSH LANGUAGE

TUESDAY, 24 January 2023

PRESENT: Councillor: G. Davies (Cabinet Member) (Virtual).

The following officers were in attendance: (Virtual) T. Neumayer-James, Principal School Governance Officer K. Thomas, Democratic Services Officer

Virtual Meeting - 9.30 - 9.55 am

1. DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST

There were no declarations of personal interest.

2. DECISION RECORD - 24TH NOVEMBER 2022

RESOLVED that the decision record of the meeting held on the 22nd November 2022 be signed as a correct record.

3. APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

The Cabinet Member considered applications received for Local Authority Governor vacancies within the county. It was noted that nominations had been invited from the Chairperson, Head teacher and Local Member(s) in the case of Primary Schools/the member(s) who were governors in the case of Secondary Schools.

It was also noted that Local Authority Governors were appointed for 4 years and where a vacancy had occurred as a result of an individual's term of office coming to an end, this was noted in the details for that particular person if he/she was seeking appointment.

The Principal School Governance Officer reported that all County Councillors, when elected, may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA Governors. Consequently, County Councillors may nominate to serve as LA Governors on a school that does not currently have a vacant post. In the event of the governorship becoming oversubscribed, the Council may stipulate which LA Governor must then stand down.

RESOLVED that, in order to meet statutory obligations for filling vacancies on Governing Bodies and having considered the applications received, the following appointments be made to vacancies for Local Authority Governors:-

Primary School	Appointments
Bryn (1 x vacancy from 29.01.23 - 1 nomination)	Dr M.A. Williams



Carreg Hirfaen	
(1 x vacancy from 29.01.23 - 1	Mr G. Hope
nomination)	
Cynwyl Elfed – Llanpumsaint	
Federation	Mr. A. Davies
(3 x vacancy - 2 nomination)	Mr K.A. Nicholas
Ffwrnes	
(0 x Vacancy)	
(That one of the existing LA Governors be	Cllr Rob James
required to stand down to enable Cllr	
James to sit on the Board of Governors)	
Hafodwenog	
(1 x vacancy from 06.03.23)	Cllr. Jean Lewis
Llandybie	
(1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mrs. S. Cann
Llangunnor	
(1 x vacancy from 12.02.23 - 1	Mr. G. Rees
nomination)	
Llanybydder	
(1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mrs. A. Smith
Myrddin	
(1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mrs. D. Ridley
Peniel	
(1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	Mr. M.J. Evans
Saron	
(1 x vacancy from 18.03.23 - 1	Mrs. L. Jones
nomination)	
V Ddwylan	
Y Ddwylan (1 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	
	Mrs. J. Ludgate

Secondary School	Appointments
Bro Myrddin (2 x vacancy 1 current and one from	Rev. T.T. Defis
29.01.23 - 1 nomination)	
Dyffryn Taf	Mr. E. Howells
(1 x vacancy from 18.03.23 - 1	
nomination)	
Gyfun Emlyn	Dr. D. Whybrow
(2 x vacancy - 1 nomination)	

CABINET MEMBER

DATE

